Bet £10, Get £10 - BETDAQ

A brief history of the Super Bowl

The 50+ year history of America’s most iconic sporting event 

It is hard to believe that the Super Bowl has only been around for just over 50 years. It is such an important part of American culture and sports culture across the world. 

Millions of people in America watch this match every year and even more people who live around the world (in spite of the time difference). Outside of America the four countries that watch the Super Bowl the most are our neighbor’s Canada, Spain, Germany, and the United Kingdom. 

However, there was a time in many people’s lifetime when there was no Super Bowl. Today, we are going to look at why the Super Bowl was created, the teams that have won the event the most times, and what they used to do before the first Super Bowl. You can find the most up-to-date odds at Fanduel’s Super Bowl betting odds. According to the current odds, the Kansas City Chiefs are most likely to win the Super Bowl this year. 

Let’s start by looking at what the Super Bowl is. 

What is the Super Bowl

The Super Bowl is the culmination of the NFL regular season and the postseason. 

The top teams in the regular season are entered into a conference playoff to find the conference champions. The two conference champions then play against each other in a match called the Super Bowl. 

This match happens once a year. The hosts of the match are chosen at the start of the season. Until 2020-21 no team had ever played a home Super Bowl. 

Why was the Super Bowl started? 

The Super Bowl was created after the NFL brought out their biggest rival the ALF (American Football League). 

When the two leagues were combined the NFL did some restructuring. They created two conferences within the NFL – the AFC and the NFC (American and National Football Conferences). 

The teams from the AFL all were put in the AFC, with two NFL teams and a few new teams. The rest of the NFL teams played in the NFC. 

Each conference was split into 4 divisions (North, South, East, and West). 

At the end of each season, the division champions from each conference and 2 wild cards enter the playoffs to find the conference champion. 

The Super Bowl is the champions of champions match that is held between the top team in the NFC and the AFC. The winner of the Super Bowl is crowned the NFL champions. 

What did they do before the Super Bowl? 

Before the Super Bowl, there were two separate leagues that held their own championship matches. 

There was an NFL championship match and an AFL championship match. Both were held at the same time of the year as the Super Bowl is now. 

Which teams have never won the Super Bowl? 

There are 12 teams that have never won the Super Bowl: 

  1. Houston Texans (newest team not to win) 
  2. Detroit Lions (oldest team not to win) 
  3. Carolina Panthers 
  4. Atlanta Falcons 
  5. Cincinnati Bengals 
  6. Jacksonville Jaguars 
  7. LA Chargers 
  8. Minnesota Vikings 
  9. Arizona Cardinals 
  10. Tennessee Titans 
  11. Buffalo Bills 
  12. Cleveland Browns 

Do you think any of these teams will win their first Super Bowl this season? 

Which teams have won the Super Bowl the most times? 

20 of the 32 NFL teams have won a Super Bowl title at least once. 

However, there are two teams that have won 6 titles each. It is worth noting that Tom Brady has won 7 Super Bowl titles on his own. 

The two teams that have won 6 Super Bowl titles are the Pittsburgh Steelers and the New England Patriots. 

The Steelers won their titles in 2009, 2006, 1980, 1979, 1976, and 1975. 

The Patriots won their titles in 2019, 2017, 2015, 2005, 2004, and 2002. They won all of these with Tom Brady as their quarterback. 

The most recent Super Bowl winners are the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.  

Who will win the Super Bowl this year? 

According to the bookies, two teams have a very high chance of winning the Super Bowl in the 2021-22 season. These two teams are the Los Angeles Rams and the Kansas City Chiefs.